The Marquis (comics)

The Marquis  is an American independent comic book series written and illustrated by Guy Davis , published by Oni Press and Dark Horse Comics .

Publication history

The Marquis  was originally published by Caliber Comics where the  Preludes  came out in 1997, followed by the rest of the  Macabre Dance  series from Oni Comics in 2000. This was followed by a one-shot and a two-issue miniseries in 2002-2003 . Davis will be finishing the story at Dark Horse Comics , where he was working on  BPRD  from 2003 to 2011. He said:

When they expressed interest in the  Marquis  , I immediately knew how to write a book with the types of books they publish. They have a great horror lineup and can not be happier with having the series completed with them. ”  [1]  [2]

The ultimate plan is to make  The Marquis  a five-volume series. The first volume,  Inferno  collects the trade paperbacks  Danse Macabre  and  Intermezzo  . Davis plans to release the novels , starting with  The Marquis and the Midwife,  and then the Marquis’ story, followed by a final prequel volume.  [1]


The Marquis  takes place in Venisalle, a fictional land resembling France during the mid-18th century, complete with stratified society and Church dominance of everyday affairs. The story revolves around Flight of Galle, to form Inquisitor of the Faith who has the ability to see demons, many of whom have infiltrated society disguised in human form. Of Galle fighting these entities with his saber and a pair of specially built, anachronistic machine guns .


While ostensibly a horror-action comic,  The Marquis  analyzes personal and religious issues through the conflicted character of Galle, and Mike Mignola and Stan Sakai for both its content and Davis’s detailed and disturbing artwork.  [3]

Collected editions

To date two trade paperbacks -have-been released by Oni Press and one volume collecting all prior material published by Dark Horse .

# title Published Publisher collects Additional Material Pages ISBN
The Marquis: Dance Macabre 28 September 2001 Oni Press
  • Dance Macabre  # 0-5
176 978-1929998159
The Marquis: Intermezzo 29 December 2003
  • Hell’s Courtesan  # 1-2
  • A Sin of One
112 978-1929998746
1 The Marquis: Inferno August 12, 2009 Dark Horse
  • Dance of Death
  • Intermezzo
  • Cover Gallery
  • Sketchbook
336 978-1595823687
2 The Marquis and the Midwife Original material 978-1595824998


  1. ^ Jump up to: b   “CCI: Guy Davis Talks” The Marquis ” ” .  Comic Book Resources  . July 24, 2008 . Retrieved 2012-09-01 .
  2. Jump up^  “Guy Davis – Talking About the Marquis and More” .  Newsarama  . August 21, 2008 . Retrieved 2012-09-01 .
  3. Jump up^  “To Tale of Unholy Faith” . . Retrieved 2012-09-01 .


  • Dance Macabre  at the Comic Book DB
  • Intermezzo  at the Comic Book DB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.